Pennon Board

The Board of Directors comprises four Non-executive Directors (including the Chairman) and two Executive Directors.

All of the Non-executive Directors are considered to have the appropriate skills, experience in their respective disciplines and personality to bring independent and objective judgement to the Board's deliberations. Their biographies below demonstrate collectively a broad range of business, financial and other relevant experience.

There is a clear division of responsibilities between the roles of Chairman and the Group Chief Executive as recorded in the descriptions of the roles approved by the Board. All Directors are subject to re-election each year.


Sir John Parker - Chairman
GBE, FREng, DSc (Eng), ScD (Hon), DSc (Hon), DUniv (Hon), FRINA

Sir John was appointed to the Board as Deputy Chairman on 1 April 2015 and became Chairman on 1 August 2015. He is also chairman of the Nomination Committee.

Sir John is recognised as a highly experienced and independent chairman and brings a wealth of leadership experience across a range of industries. He was previously the chairman of Anglo American Plc and National Grid Plc, senior non-executive director and chair of the Court of the Bank of England, deputy chairman of DP World, joint chair of Mondi and chair of BVT and P&O Plc.

External appointments

Sir John is the chairman of Laing O'Rourke and of Advanced Plasma Power Limited. He is also a non-executive director of Carnival Corporation and Airbus Group. Sir John is a Visiting Fellow of the University of Oxford and was president of the Royal Academy of Engineering from 2011 to 2014.

Sir John's significant commitments in the year have reduced with his stepping down as deputy chairman of DP World in July 2015.

Chris Loughlin - Group Chief Executive
BSc Hons, MICE, CEng, MBA

Chris was appointed to the Board on 1 August 2006 upon joining Pennon Group as Chief Executive of South West Water. He became the Group Chief Executive on 1 January 2016. Chris is chairman of the Pennon Executive Management Board and a member of the Sustainability Committee.

Chris was previously chief operating officer with Lloyds Register and earlier in his career was an executive director of British Nuclear Fuels Plc and executive chairman of Magnox Electric Plc. He was also a senior diplomat in the British Embassy, Tokyo. Chris started his career as a chartered engineer working in both the consulting and contracting sectors and subsequently held a number of senior positions with British Nuclear Fuels. Between April 2008 and March 2012 he was chairman of Water UK. An enthusiastic advocate of local business, Chris was a director of the Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership for six years.

External appointments

Chris is currently chairman of British Water, a director of Water UK and a trustee of the charity WaterAid.

Susan Davy - Group Chief Financial Officer
BSc Hons, ACA

Susan joined the Board on 1 February 2015. She is a member of the Pennon Executive Management Board. Susan is a graduate qualified chartered accountant with 20 years' experience in the utility sector.

Susan was previously finance and regulatory director of South West Water, a position to which she was appointed in August 2007. Prior to joining Pennon Group she held a number of senior posts with Yorkshire Water including head of regulation and head of finance in its Waste Water Unit and was head of finance for Brey Utilities, a joint venture company owned by Yorkshire Water and Earthtech Engineering Limited.

External appointments

Susan is chair of the CBI South West council, Non-executive Director and Audit chair of Restore plc and a member of the A4S (Accounting for Sustainability) CFO leadership network.

Gill Rider - Senior Independent Non-executive Director

Gill was appointed to the Pennon Board on 1 September 2012. She is chairman of the Sustainability Committee and a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

Formerly, Gill was head of the Civil Service Capability Group in the Cabinet Office reporting to the Cabinet Secretary and prior to that held a number of senior positions with Accenture LLP culminating in the post of chief leadership officer for the global firm. She was previously president of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and a non-executive director of De La Rue Plc.

External appointments

Gill currently holds non-executive directorships with Charles Taylor Plc, where she is senior independent director, and Intertek Group Plc. She is chairman of both their remuneration committees. She is also chair of the council (board) of the University of Southampton.

Neil Cooper - Independent Non-executive Director BSc Hons, FCMA

Neil joined the Pennon Board on 1 September 2014. He is chairman of the Audit Committee and is currently a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

Neil was previously group finance director of Barratt Developments Plc. Before that he was group finance director of William Hill Plc. He also held senior finance positions at Bovis Homes Plc and Whitbread Plc, worked for PricewaterhouseCoopers as a management consultant and held a number of roles with Reckitt & Colman Plc.


Iain Evans ā€“ Independent Non-Executive Director

Iain was appointed to the Board on 1 September 2018. He is a member of the Audit, Remuneration, Nomination and Sustainability Committees.

Skills and Experience Iain has 40 years of extensive global experience in advising companies and governments on issues of complex corporate strategy. In 1983 he co-founded LEK Consulting in London and built it into one of the world's largest and most respected corporate strategy consulting firms with a global footprint active in a wide range of industries.

Iain was appointed as a non-executive director of Welsh Water plc in 1989 and served on the board for nearly 10 years, including 5 years as chairman

External appointments Iain continues to act as an independent corporate strategy consultant on a part time basis